“Critical Warning Alert” on the computer is a Scam. What should you do?

“Critical Warning Alert” on the computer is a Scam. What should you do?

Every American now or then must have received a Critical Warning alert on their computer screen. That freezes the computer and gives a toll-free number to call. These kinds of scams are very common these days.

Why do you get such Critical Warning Scam Alerts?

These kinds of warnings are not basically alerts or warnings which you get on your computer. These basically are advertisements which come with some website which you were surfing. These kinds of advertisements come with a loud beeping sound or someone narrating what has gone wrong.

critical warning alert

Why does critical warning alert block your screen?

These advertisements come with a loud noise and it even seems that your computer is blocked. But it’s nothing just an advertisement that can easily be closed and volume can be lowered down. It has nothing to do with blocking your computer or any computer related issues.

How do these people scam us?

Whenever this kind of alert or advertisement comes up on your screen with a loud irritating noise. It comes with a toll-free number, which is requested for you to call. When people get irritated with loud noise and blocking of the computer, they call on the given number. Someone on the other end answers your call and asks for your computer’s access remotely. When they get access to your computer, they show you many different things on the computer and tell you that these are the problems and ask you for the money to get it fixed.

What we found is that most (but not all) tech support scammers use two methods:

  • The scammer will claim your computer has a virus infection that needs to be cleaned (sometimes true if the scammer intentionally infected your computer)
  • The scammer will claim your network has been hacked and that the hackers’ access to your computer and network needs to be removed

Scammers did not always try to gain remote access to our computer as part of the scam. In some instances, they simply claimed to be checking our computer’s network connection after gathering basic information about the computer we used, put us on hold for a few minutes, and then stated what they believed to be the problem and the solution.

What Should you do?

If you have received such a kind of message on your computer, you need not call the given number. What you need to do is just restart your computer and, in many cases, your computer will be working fine. But in some cases, even if you restart the computer, you may see the alert again. In this case, just go to your task manager by pressing CTRL+ALT+DELETE keys together and close the browser from there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.